Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Grotto

The first day of my Christmas leave period, so I hopped into town to do my present shopping. To counter a few myths I can assure you that Bradford does still have many open shops, and I completed all my Christmas shopping there.

Today's blip comes from Santa's Grotto in the Kirkgate Centre, an external shot of which I featured last  Friday. Santa wasn't in (opening times 11:00-15:30, up to and including Christmas Eve), but there was still plenty to look at.

The first thing that caught my eye was the money that had been thrown into the Grotto.  I hadn't noticed this before, but presumably this is an accumulation of Christmas wishes. Is this something peculiar to Santa's Bradford Grotto, or a universal phenomenon? There were also assorted woodland animals in various states of animation: hedgehogs, deer, and for some reason what I take to be the rear half of a giant mole. Perhaps someone with greater zoological prowess can offer a more accurate identification, or maybe I should upload this on iSpot.

Christmas wishes ~ a charitable treasure ~ in the Grotto

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.