Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Holly & Oak

Headed to Walgreens this morning to get 10 x 8 prints of past two blips as Christmas presents for my wife and mother-in-law. It's not much in the grand scheme of things but it's the thought that counts. The gift-wrapped Lexus as seen on the TV ads will have to wait for another year. Who am I kidding? It's more likely to be in my next life. :-)

Having struggled with the touch screen computer to make the order -- it took three attempts to get my phone number correct and another three attempts to enter my name -- I either have a heavy touch or too light a touch, the machine informed me the prints would be ready by 12:56 pm. I had about 30 minutes to wait and used that time to scout round for today's blip.

I sauntered along a couple of streets I haven't walked for quite a few weeks. I wasn't feeling particularly inspired.

Is it the same for other people in that you have to fire off a couple of really poor shots in order to get the creative juices flowing? My waist-level technique also let me down on a shot a postman wearing one of those hats worn by people who live in the Andes. I got him in the frame right enough but he was out of focus, so the best shot of the day was destined straight for the computer's trash bin.

Eventually I settled on a slightly festive scene of a neatly sculpted holly bush outside a doctor's office, with the fall leaves of a live oak in the background.

It is kind of a reprise of yesterday's shot but I assure you it was not taken in the light of the comments I received from people in the UK regarding the Bradford Pear. It was pure coincidence that I chose a similar, and colourful, subject.

At least it is nice for me to know that I am bringing a little warmth, colour and cheer to my fellow countrymen and women in snowbound Britain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.