The Next Star Is Mine

By astronick

Waiting for sunrise, watching the eclipse

This morning Blipfoto was inundated with shots of the total lunar eclipse which was visible across a number of continents on the 20th/21st December.

Here in Aberdeen I lugged my telescope up to the top of the nearest hill to view it and got some spectacular views. Although the air was hazy I still got some great photos of the deep red colour of the Moon during totality. There is a shot on Flickr here. The shot I've put on Blip was taken with my second camera which I set up behind me to get some wide shots of the event. This one was taken a few minutes before totality and in it you can just about see my ghostly outline as I fiddle with my telescope and camera.

I stayed around long after the Moon had set to see the sunrise on the shortest day of the year. There is a shot of the sun just above the horizon here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.