Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

All that glisters...

...will be spilt, trodden into the rugs or possibly eaten by the canine-in-residence and hence end up deposited in a pile of poo.

Shakespeare my life ain't!

Today Henry asked me for a sledge. We don't have one. Could you make one mummy? Ermmmm. I cast my mind about. What did we use as kids? Well, aside from the one year my father made a super-sledge with metal runners, pushed my little brother down a hill, equalled the land speed record and very nearly killed him, we used a tin tray. I don't possess a tin tray. I have a few very nice melamine models but none were suitable for sledding.

Then I remembered that our oven had originally come with two large trays, with highly polished surfaces. I'd never used them as I only like trays which can also be used on my induction hob. Had I still got them...? A quick excursion into the bottom cupboard elicited that I had and they came complete with convenient little holes, punched in the edges. Goodness knows what culinary purpose the little holes serve but they're tailor-made for poking thick string through. So Henry spent the afternoon happily pulling his friends around in the snow pretending to be a reindeer and I got lots of mummy points.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.