I am rosco

By iamrosco

Private stash, gerrroff

When roads, railways and airports are closed (or suffering from severe delays) due to heavy snow and a lack of equipment and materials to clear it all, what would you do with yours? This was taken in a private car park, and we all know how friendly the people who run those can be.

Moving on to this evening, trying to tidy the place up so it's not a tip for us returning after chri... (my stats show that I mention that word waaaaay too much) the festive break and pack our bags to take lots of warm gear and pressies back to respective parents' houses. Not fun, but at least I had managed a couple of jars and some decent chat with the soon-to-be-new team after work, then a nice dinner at our local bistro (no dishes tonight, oh yeh), and kept myself warm with a sip or two of some very smooth port as recommended at our recent end of year wine tasting. Yup, not bad at all actually.

It is with great sadness and the realisation that I am getting older (oi, wait a minute, I'm not that old) that I am about to admit to the following occurrence today. In preparation for the trip to the house that built rosco, I invested in some slippers. I know, just the pipe to go - I already have more than my fair share of grey hair, and that's being kind. In my defence, I live in a fairly new flat that is awesomely efficient and very easy to heat, and for the next few days I will be living in what the penguins from Edinburgh Zoo would affectionately refer to as the freezer. No offence house that built rosco, but the Victorians just didn't know that much about wall or loft insulation, nor did they seem to get the fact that heat rises and stays near the top of their 14 odd foot high rooms. Another birthday slips by and I feel the need to defend my body against the rigours of a Victorian house, it is an eventful life for sure.

That's me for now, just going to check my good friend the pogoplug to see what delights I might want to grab on to the laptop before heading off. Love that little thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.