Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

... and finally the tree!

The tree, shaped like an S and frozen in its pot finally made it into the conservatory to be decorated. With careful positioning I managed to direct the lean into the corner and the kink is much less obvious. Days taken up with cleaning, sorting and last minute shopping are not very conducive to photographing blips and I finally got around to another evening photo-shoot. Actually this has been really good for me as I've been learning a lot about photographing light. In this shot the outside light was illuminating the tree from the right of the picture and the tree lights provided additional points of interest. I'm still not very good at selecting and framing when I have the camera set up on the tripod, which might be to do with not taking enough time to compose the shot and also to do with selecting a scene in the semi-dark. I've been thinking about the tips that Joesblips passed onto Amalarian so in future I think I need to set up the scene with the main light on and then turn this off to take the shot. I also think that with this kind of shot I could do much more and actually set out the composition as a still life (with lights).

Without blip I probably never would have tried out this kind of photography - I'm learning so much by looking at other peoples images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.