BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

The Big White Telephone

Total Recall

The Big White Telephone
gave me a call.
It said, 'You'd better come over
if you've the strength to crawl.

You've gobbled all the turkey
You've pigged out on the pud.
You've stuffed yourself stupid
and you don't look good.

You've wiped out all the whisky.
You've swallowed all the wine.
You've polished off the beer
and you don't look fine.'

So I stumbled from the bedroom
at 4 a.m.
I staggered to the bathroom
and said, 'Here I am.'

I talked about the whisky.
I whinged about the wine.
I moaned about the turkey
for a very long time.

I mentioned the pudding.
I recalled the beer.
I told the whole story
then got out of there.

Now it's back to bed
for the rest of the day.
Please don't ring
I've got nothing left to say.


Thanks to Lady La La for introducing me to The White Telephone.
sick

Poem copyright Bernard Young, 2010

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.