While on my runs

By waipushrink

New Zealand Flax

I was definitely not the first up this morning, and after making the lovely S an early coffee, was later than usual leaving for my run. Up to the Highfield Gardens Reserve lookout, and was almost dazzled by the extremely bright sun in a nearly cloudless sky. Looking down to Algies Bay, I liked the peace of the water, and positioned myself almost behind a flax bush so as to limit the effect of the sun. This is the result. The flax is in the left foreground.

Over the next 45 minutes no better image came to sight and the few shots I attempted were uninspired.

I tried a Kawau Bay shot in the early afternoon, and later on accompanied my niece and her children to the "family beach", taking my granddaughter, her father and brother. Some lovely family shots before the wind off the bay drove us shivering back up the cliff path.

A happy day, finishing with barbecued sausages and a glass (or two) of a Gimblett Gravels merlot. After thinking about all the possible blips, the one I chose carries most the promise of the day that turned out to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.