Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Boxing Day

I always feel a little short changed not having a Boxing Day in the US, but we absolutely made it a fantastic day by having Auntie Angie and her companion John over for Boxing Day dinner, turkey and all the trimmings, champagne and red wine. We spent an hour on Skype with my family, singing songs together, dancing to Fairytale of New York with Callum around the tree for them to see, and Reuben sitting all the while patiently on Angie's lap. The tears that flowed when the two sisters saw each other again after 3 years were so heartfelt and momentous, as they did too when each of us in turn sang Irish and Scottish ditties, Christmas carols and songs. At mum and dad's today, the day on which I was due to arrive but cancelled due to the UK weather, were Mum, Dad, my brothers Peter and Joe, sisters Geraldine and Mark and their partners Nicki, Mark and Amanda, their children Corrin, Aurora, Hannah and Nancy, all appearing intermittently on Skype. Just fantastic. To Auntie Angie, it must have been technology from the future.

And in the evening, we settled down to watch The Wizard of Oz. Isn't that perfect?

So whilst the UK basks in a two day holiday of Monday and Tuesday in lieu of Christmas and Boxing Day, I realize that apparently Christmas Eve was a public holiday here. Oooh, I do miss the UK holidays and how I knew exactly when they fell each year, something I've never quite adjusted to, even 9 years into living in the US.
More Boxing Day magic.

PS I do actually change their pjs every day which harks back to Reu needing a few changes a night, but since these were still clean, I popped them back on the boys this morning for a repeat around the tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.