Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Full Circle

Those of you who have been following my blips for 2010 will possibly recognize this little place by now. This is now the sixth time I've taken a photograph from the exact (or as near as I can) same spot. However, the resulting pictures have been completely different.

Here is a listing of the complete set for the whole of 2010:

Sunday 17th January: Meltwaters

Tuesday 23rd March: How Things Change

Saturday 8th May: Gone Green!

Tuesday 20th July: Catching Up

Thursday 23rd October: Losing Leaves

I'm really glad we made the effort to drive to this view this afternoon - we certainly hadn't planned to go there when we woke this morning. However, I was pleased to get a "winter" picture!

Today we went out for the first time since getting snowed in. It was fabulous to be out and about again, and we got to see green grass! What joy! We drove to Cheltenham and went shopping, which was amazing. In fact, when we parked up, the colours and sounds were quite an assault on our senses. I'd been seriously thinking of wearing wellies to go out in (we're still wearing them to go to the garage), but that would have felt very odd in Cheltenham.

We had a great time shopping - a couple of pairs of trousers for the Wonderspouse, a few books for each of us, a coffee at Costa, a hot pork roll from a street vendor for lunch, and one or two other odds and ends, including a little stuffed Gruffalo for me - I fell in love with them before Christmas and now I have a small one to keep me company at my desk!

As we drove home, the snow reappeared (we live on what the weather forecasters call "high ground", which is currently above the "snow line"), and the fog became thicker and thicker. It was like driving from one season to another.

It also struck me, as I took this picture, how different the experience has been in taking each photograph in this series - I certainly wouldn't have wanted to be wearing shorts and flip-flops today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.