While on my runs

By waipushrink

A grey old day

Despite forecaster's predictions of another sunny day, the day dawned with full (if high) cloud cover, and so it has remained all day with intermittent showers. Certainly not a beach day for the grandchildren.

While on my run this morning, everything was grey, including the water. The main beach was showing vast expanses of sand and mud and seaweed as the tide was well out. At the southern end of the beach, which is where I start along the beachfront path, I saw a surprisingly large group of white-faced heron near a large pool. I was unable to get close enough for a good shot, without putting my nice new shoes into mud and salt water. The shot I did get is a discard.

Continued on along the path to find a solitary heron at the edge of a pool (its presumed mate was about 20 m away in another pool). Although it is still rather far off due to my reluctance to try and get closer, I chose to keep the original image. The transition from sand to pool with heron, to mudflats, to very shallow water, to slightly deeper water (with more texture to it), appeals to me. Also, my consultant (the adorable S), prefers this shot.

Nice family time through the day, followed by a visit to a local winery and vineyard to purchase an excellent merlot rose. And now my daughter in law is about to put the roasted pork belly on to the table where it will be accompanied by the rose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.