Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

You can't win 'em all...

Thank you for all the hearts yesterday...I wans't expecting that at all! It was a bit of an experiment.

Really bleurgh weather today. All the shots I took looked a bit flat and lifeless. This one came out slightly better than I expected so I've pepped it up a bit with a texture I created a while back. But you can't win 'em all :-)

Had a chat with a friend today and something she said to me made me think...'Oh it's ok for you...you only work part time. I wish I only worked part time...' she said.

She also said, 'Your husband is so lovely...he's so helpful and supportive. You have it really easy.'

I bit my tongue because she needed to vent...she's a teacher and goes back to work tomorrow and she hates her job...or at least she seems to.

Yes I work part time...by choice. Well...I'm an optometrist part time. I also run a small business from home, which supplements my income and allows me to stay at home with Noah more...the business is small but takes up a fair bit of time in the evenings and some of my weekend. I also help my husband with his business...all part time of course. So I have three part time jobs and their hours probably add up to a full time job and I get no paid holidays, and neither does he.

I'm not complaining...it's totally my choice. My life balance feels right but it's hard work maintaining that balance.

I'm very supportive of my husband and I expect support in return...we're a team...for better or worse, and we respect each other's skills. Yes I am lucky to have him but he's also lucky to have me.

None of this happened by accident...we work bl**dy hard at it and sometimes (like last year when one of my husband's clients went bust) it all falls down about our ears...but we pick ourselves up, regroup and come back fighting.

I felt mildly annoyed today when my friend dismissed my life with her 'It's ok for you' comment... but then I thought...yes, it *is* ok for me...I've made my choices and I'm confident they are the right ones. If they prove to be the wrong ones in the future I'll have a rethink. She's having trouble sorting out her own choices and I guess it's easier sometimes to think that someone else's life is plain sailing and it would all be better if only your life was just like theirs.

You can't win 'em all.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.