My Angle

By myangle

Redland Bay Storm

Last minute blip today.

This is a squall coming in from the south east over southern Moreton Bay.

After work we went over to Jo's Dad. As we were leaving there was still enough light for a half decent photo so we toddled off to the harbour for a look around. It has been overcast and windy for since Christmas day and it looks set to continue that way till Sunday. The reason? There is an intense low off the mid north Queensland coast feeding moist air onshore. Ordinarily it would form into a cyclone but it is a bit early in the season. Brisbane is basically cyclone proof anyway and they normally pass far north of here. Still, it affects the weather patterns here.

It is a bit of a shame for holidaymakers. It isn't cold but it is a bit blustery. The nights are a bit warm mind you. Hopefully this system brings some rain. We have had plenty of coastal showers but our dams are not getting the benefit. The met office says we need about 300mm in one hit. I think that would cause a few flooding issues.

Work is running on a skeleton staff at the moment. My little section is just me and I spent most of the day on my own. It was a bit boring even though I had plenty of work to do. Strangely it is basically the same as when I do nights but doing days feels different when there is no-one around.

Jo and her friend Kathie are organising what we are all going to do on near years eve. It is looking likely that we will have to look after Dad so things will probably be a little tame this year. I can't see Dad lasting till midnight. Dinner at the Redlands Sporting club is looking good at the moment.

Jo and I looked at a kitchen manufacturer on the way home. The builder will be in to do the ceiling early in the new year so we need to get cracking and get some quotes. The sooner the kitchen is finished the sooner I can go boat shopping.

Not that I want to rush things...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.