Journey Through Time

By Sue

Golden Beets

Okay, so for some reason I got to my "golden" years and have never heard of golden beets before. At a lovely grocery (see previous blips) we visited in Corvallis, Oregon we bought some salads to go with our dinner. One was a golden beet salad with green beans and pecans and it was heavenly, if you like that sort of thing. Golden beets are a bit sweeter and not as strong of a beet flavor, I think. That salad was about the best new thing I've tried in recent memory, and I wondered if Whole Foods would have them. Of course they did. Hubby isn't so taken with beets, so I just bought one "bunch". $2.49 a pound, sort of expensive. Well they are organic, so that's one reason they are a bit spendy, I guess. These beets cost 68 cents each. I will clean them, and peel them carefully and roast them in the oven. Or leave the skins on..have to find out if that works. Whole Foods did have a golden beet salad, but they paired them with brussel sprouts, which sounds horrendous to me, not being a big brussel sprout fan.

Our Whole Foods store is located right next to Borders, a big book store. I could spend the day going back and forth between the two stores. If anyone out there wants to give me a $1000 gift certificate to either store...that's fine with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.