Journey Through Time

By Sue

Meet....ah....what's her name

No, she doesn't have a name. Guess I 'll have to think of one for her. Anyway, getting late in the afternoon, the sun is gone, didn't go anywhere and had nothing of interest for a blip. So, I looked at the statue and thought...hey, she might be of interest. This lovely, interesting lady is called a Blackamoor and she belonged to hubby's grandmother. There was another statue similar to this, but it is long gone. This statue was in the grandmother's floral shop and when she moved from North Dakota to Portland, Oregon, the statue came with. (that's how they put it in the Dakota's.) Anyway, hubby liked it and it became ours eventually. We decorated our living room around her, in a way, and now she sort of fits in. You can't tell it from this photo, but she does, trust me. It took a lot of Internet searching for me to find anything about her, but that's because I didn't use the right terminology. If you google Blackamoor you will find the genre that fits her. She stands on a wooden stand, so isn't as tall as you might think. She is made of chalk ware or plaster, I think. Actually the term Polychrome Blackamoor is more correct as she has all these wonderful colors on her. Sadly the tray that she holds has been bumped (not on my watch, however) and she has a few scars to show for it. The dating on this might be as early as the late 1800's Victorian time period up to the 1910's-early 20's. She might have been designed to be in a hallway and to accept calling cards from visitors. I wish I knew her exact history. She's very pretty, I think. Of course this is some American manufacturers version of what a Moroccan servant girl would look like...and they wouldn't have dressed like this. I guess she is supposed to be Moroccan, as the Moors came from Northern Africa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.