Lonesome Dove

Larry McMurtry's Lonesome Dove series was recommended to me by my late internet buddy Nancy. I thoroughly enjoyed them the first time I read them, and I'm enjoying them all over again on a second reading.

The books paint a violent picture of the settling of The West, with a brilliantly memorable cast of characters from Texas Rangers to Comanches to Mexican bandits, all filled with wonderful dialogue and descriptive writing which is the author's stock in trade. Thanks to Nancy's original recommendation I went on to read other McMurtry books, including Terms of Endearment, but it will always be the Lonesome Dove books which I'll associate with his name.

As I write this on 6th January I've just begun the final book in the series, having gobbled up the 2000-odd pages of the first three in a flurry of enjoyment. Great stuff!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.