Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Wet footpaths, fields and lame sheep

The snow's gone and the morning was bright and sunny. It was lovely to walk through the house and feel the sun streaming through the windows. I'm actually beginning to think that I'm on top of things again. I mis-timed my walk though. I thought if I left it to the afternoon the lower angle of the sun would provide me with some interesting photos. Just as I set off the clouds came in and by the time I was half way round it was raining. Cursing, as I'd failed to bring the washing inside and hoping that my neighbour would be kind enough to rescue it when she brought her own in, I shortened my planned walk and headed home. (She did bring it in, she's such a star!)

I've rarely seen the footpaths so wet, I avoided going uphill because I expected it to be wet and boggy, but the alternative path I chose had water pouring off the field forming a small fast flowing stream. So a good deal of wading through water and very wet boots.

The flat light left me with very uninteresting photos which I deleted and this is one of two that I felt I could post. As I passed along the top edge of a field I disturbed three sheep that had settled. This one was the last to rise and as she did so it was clear she was lame. Sheep suffer from foot rot and the very wet state of these fields can't help. I think this farmer checks on his flock on a regular basis when he moves them from field to field so I hope he notices this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.