My Angle

By myangle

Puppies

I finished work early today and went the vet clinic where Jo works to scrounge a cup of tea. I was a bit surprised when Jo ushered me inside and pressed me into service while she and Anne the vet finished up doing and emergencey cesarean on a silky terrier. They had removed 4 puppies, one was already dead and the remaining 3 needed heat more than anything else.

Anne, the vet tied of their little umbillical cords.

Considering that I have never done anything like this before I quickly grasped the situation and after 5 minutes of trying to warm them up with towels and warm bottles of water, I got Jo to stuff them under my t-shirt against my ample and warm belly.

So there I was with 3 squirming, wet and smelly puppies under my t-shirt while Jo and Anne finished up working on the mum. After that it was a race against time to get the little bundles suckling while mum came around from the anesthetic. One of the puppies found a nipple straight away but the other two took 15 minutes or so of coaxing by squeezing milk onto my finger and stuffing it into their mouths. The runt of the litter finally latched on and I was able to stand back and admire them.

We went from the vet not holding out much hope for any of them to a 3 out of 4 result.

I felt like I was in an episode of animal rescue or something! Jo's job makes mine look positively boring.

So no new years eve party photos today.

Maybe I will post an after midnight one tomorrow when blip central's time capsule unlocks. In all probablilty we will be home by midnight anyway. The plan was to watch the kids fireworks at Southbank in Brisbane but while the rest of Australia swelters, there are gale force winds and driving rain here. Plan B is a nice dinner out.

I can't complain. Even though I have had to work on the non-public holidays, I am just about all festive seasoned out. I might see if I can tee up a nice game of golf tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.