A Blip on the Reidar

By reidar

New Year. Old Blip. Leaky Roof...

For quite a while this post was going to be called "So long and thanks for all the fish" but this photo business is a cruel demanding mistress who won't let me leave that easy...

First day of the New Year and in keeping with the disaster start to last year with the tree demolishing the fence we awoke to a new problem of water coming in through the roof somewhere or other. Nothing too bad at the moment but with everyone on holiday we need to wait until the third of the month to chase people about it, especially as we just had work done on the roof about five months ago :(

This afternoon we did the trips around the relatives, this picture captures my brother casting a watchful eye over the various children running amok in the grand parents house. Either that or he's posing for a Red Army type commie poster heralding the virtues of the working man.

So its been a whole year of taking photo's everyday... it's been harder at times than I thought it would be. I'm under no illusions that most of these shots are nothing other than a glimpse of my life and surroundings than say a master class in photography. I'm amazed at the quality of some of the other contributors to Blip, do you all have jobs to go to in the morning?

365 pictures and rambling nonsense written with it. Some have been easy, the photographic spirit was willing and able and I had to battle with myself to pick just one shot. Other times its been a bane on my life. I seem to remember about two whole months when I couldn't have seen it far enough. Some things have worked out well. Assigning myself occasional series such as Football, Abandoned, Demolition and Numbers has reinvigorated myself at times. The Blipfoto Assignments themselves I've discovered I hardly ever participate in, if a shot naturally falls into the category I'll tag it as such but I've not pushed myself to do any particular one.

Looking over my years photos I'd say that there about 58 pictures (QTAPOA's) that if I hadn't been trying to Blip a picture a day then I would have not posted anything that day. Thirteen times I resorted to Blip whatever I had been working on that day, not necessarily a bad thing though. Now that I have posted everyday for a whole year I've decided that I won't rigidly stick to trying to continue. I'm not going to disappear but if I don't happen to take a reasonable picture (in my eyes anyway) then I won't be posting that day. Probably the first day I don't post will be the hardest to try and drop the habit :)

Forcing myself to pick just one photograph from each month in the last year here are my favourites. Thanks Blip and all the comments left by fellow Blippers, I'll continue to drop in for more fish...

January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
November
December

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.