Remembering Bernard

There was a memorial mass in Glasthule church this morning for Carl's neighbour Bernard (more usually referred to as the 'month's mind'). The car roof was frosty again, but it was only when I backed out of my driveway that I realised the roads too were a bit tricky, so I had to tip-toe out to the main road before being able to drive normally.

The mass was unusually elaborate, and went on quite a bit longer than we'd expected, and it was almost 12.30 by the time we got outside again. We were asked back to the house to join the family for a bite to eat and the usual reminiscences and echange of stories about Bernard. As we'd done at the wake a month before, Carl and I gave a hand with food preparation and general kitchen chores and once again acting as meeters and greeters and waiters and barmen. It was all very pleasant, and we all had a fine old time.

We arranged to meet Bernard's partner down in one of the local pubs afterwards, but it was quite a while before he finally joined us. We continued our reminiscing there, and suddenly realised that time had advanced and it was already after 9.30. Carl and I went across the road for a meal in O'Dell's restaurant. There were only two other people there, already at the final stage of their meal, and at first there was some hesitation about whether or not we'd get a table. After a quick consultation with the chef we were shown to our table. I opted for a fish disn which wasn't the same as on the menu (I'd never heard of whatever fish was being served instead of the advertised cod). It turned out to be bland and rather tasteless, and I ate only a very small amount of it. To give them their due, I wasn't charged for my main course, so we left with a good impression despite disappointment with the actual food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.