Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

The Creeper

C saw this little bird lying in the snow on the deck this morning. I It probably had stunned itself by flying into the deck?s sliding glass door. I picked it up carefully and determined it was still alive, so we put it in the breadbasket with a jar of warm water, and placed the basket on the front porch rail.

I went back inside to get ready for my petanque game and returned for another look at the bird a few minutes later -- just in time to see it hop onto the rim of the basket, and after a quick thank-you look in our direction, fly away.

I almost forget to mention that the bird was a Brown Creeper. Creepers creep up tree trunks in a spiral motion, probing for spiders and insects in the crevices of the bark. They use their long stiff tail feathers for support.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.