Flooding

You will have to use your imagination for this. The flood should have peaked around 3 metres above my head at 4pm afternoon. I can't tell you if it did because I left work around 11am and came home. There was nothing else to do except hope this the flood doesn't come up to the first floor. This morning it was hard to believe that it would but footage on the TV is making me think otherwise.

This morning at work we manhandled anything that wasn't nailed down and put it up on the cutting benches. Again, from where I was then I could not imagine the water coming up that high.

So now I wait till the morning. Tomorrows tidal flood peak will be higher than todays and after that things will start to settle down. It might be a week or more before we can get production going again. That is only if there is no damage.

I came home along the river and stopped at a few places to watch the almighty volume of water that is racing down towards the ocean, carrying lots and lots of debris with it. There are a surprising number of boats which have broken loose from their moorings causing havoc as they speed down the river, crashing into pontoons. All of that floating material, big and small is heading out onto the bay. It will be months before it is all recovered.

I stopped off at Manly Harbour on the way home. It is packed with boats of all shapes and sizes because of its safe moorings in these conditions. It was strange seeing all the river ferries moored there.

As for Jo and I, we are well. Our home is not in part of the flood zone. I came home and went off to my mate Ross to play darts. What else could I do? The public has been warned to stay off the roads so that emergency vehicles can have unlimited access. I certainly won't be going anywhere in the car. In that respect it is easier having a motorbike to get about on.

Let's see what tomorrow brings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.