Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

Target practice

Took the dags up to lthe chalkpit this morning, they get to do lots of running up and down the steep sides and I just pootle about looking for stuff.

This is the stuff I found today, it would appear to have been official once, but what?

My brother and I spent many hours up here as kids, collecting flint stones and of course trying to make fire with them.
My kids used to come up here and I would imagine tried the same tricks.
I know in more recent years that some-ones kids have been up there and managed to make fire, whether with flint stones or matches, they succeeded.
I know this because we found the fire and called the fire brigade, and of course I took photo's.
Not linking to them as I haven't a clue where I've filed them.

The kids in question learnt a valuable lesson that day....
We didn't bollock them and tell them never to do that naughty thing again, where would be the point in that? They would have just stuck two fingers up as we walked away and gone back another day to do it all again.
We told them that if they were going to get up to such tricks again, to do it -Ray Mears style- on the chalk, within a circle of stones away from the grass.

We also suggested that their parents wouldn't be too chuffed with them.

No, we never told on them, they were worried enough just with the thought of being snitched on.

We should always keep in mind how we were as kids, and try not to take too higher moral ground.

Kids will be kids, they will do similar things year in year out, each generation thinking they have found something new.
All we can do is try to guide them away from harm and keep them safe, and of course if they are your family........love them loads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.