Five things

By fivethings

Grey Granite

1. Just returned safe and sound from the first of my trips to Aberdeen this week. All in all it was a very good day. I explored a few streets I had never been down before and met some good new people.

2. I also visited the Extreme sports centre in Aberdeen, which was pretty inspiring. It's full of very cool people doing some very cool things.

3. When days run smoothly it makes me smile. There were two train journies very well spent. The first with work, water and salad and the second with Brighton Rock, fizzy pop and crisps.

4. Grey Granite is the last of the Scots Quair Trilogy and is set in Aberdeen. My dad and I shared a love of these books and today I was flushed with the memory of a day, not too long ago, when dad drove me to a meeting in Aberdeen. On the way we took a detour and drove through Grassic Gibbon country were the first two books were set. He waited while I worked and then we drove home together, talking all the while about books and music and the general chatter we shared.

5. This photo today is of a small token that has 'this do in remembrance of me' engraved on it. I found it amongst the sewing gear I inherited from my gran. The story behind it is wonderful and now I keep it in a little box frame. I think about what that phrase means to me often and today I felt like I was doing just that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.