The second half of life..

By twigs

Resting in heaven

S and I took a walk around the Kaihoka farm where her family have been staying now for 10 days - and I've been visiting for just 1 day!

Golden Bay is a very special place for me, and the Kaihoka Lakes area is one that I've visited a number of times but I've never really explored much beyond the 'regular' tracks.

The big highlight was the sand dunes that you can see in front of S here...... The sun had shone long, bright and hot all day and the sand was absolutely s-c-o-r-c-h-i-n-g! The descent (and believe me, the dunes are steep!!) involved firstly, the removal of shoes and socks (so as not to have to complete the walk back in sand-paper like footwear) then sprinting from shady patch to shady patch until finally reaching the coolness and comfort of the wee bay's damp sand.

Stop # 1 - under the nikau palms you can see on the dune

Stop # 2 - amongst a small patch of marram grass

Stop # 3 - on to the next patch of marram grass

Stop # 4 - on the water-cooled sand of the beach :)

Aaaaahhhhh!!!! Relief :)

The bay itself was absolutely beautiful - crystal clear, cool and sparkling ocean water which even had me feeling that I wouldn't mind a quick dip in it!

It was indeed a lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.