All the ones

I kept my promise to myself and watched the concluding 2-hour episode of Flood on TV. Just over and hour into it, I was constantly stciking my head in and out of the living room and the kitchen, anxious to catch a particular moment. I'd noticed earlier in the day that the date was one of those special ones: 11/1/11, in this case. And then I thought "at two moments today it'll be even more significant, so maybe I'll blip that". I missed 11.11 am, but I was determined not to miss the moment twelve hours later.

So here it is: 11:11 on 11/1/11, courtesy of the clock on my microwave.

Apart from an obsession with time and watching London become safely un-flooded, I finally got round to contacting a new doctor and making an appointment to see him. I was desperately disappointed with my previous doc because he'd been so casual about my heart condition, never even thought of checking my cholesterol, and sent a letter to the cardiologist which failed to convey any sense of urgency. My prescription was running out, I was anxious to get another cholesterol check done, I wanted to ave my medication reviewed, and I had some other concerns which I needed advice and an opinion about. My cousin had recommended the doctor she and her family use, and I'd been threatening for some time to contact him. I finally did that this morning and we set up an appointment for 10.30 tomorrow morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.