Plus ça change...

By SooB

A long climb

So, 1,000 blips. Of course I didn't know when I signed up that it would become such a big part of my life. And yes, I feel odd saying such a thing about a network of people who, in the main, I have not met (or perhaps I should say "I am am yet to meet"). But the community here would keep me coming back for more, were it not for the obvious push that having to take a photo a day has given me. Without that push, it would be all to easy to let the tricky stuff slip from my mind, and just carry on taking holiday snaps that I would always be vaguely dissatisfied with. I'm not claiming to be any great shakes, but I think I know sometimes why and how things have gone awry between eye and print. Which is a start.

Today, Mr B was aware that it was big blipday - so we had a great trip out to the lagoons ('etangs' in local parlance) that run like a sapphire necklace up the Mediterranean coastline north of us. We saw egrets, herons and flamingos, had a picnic in the sunshine (t-shirt weather today) and bought oysters and mussels for dinner which will have been harvested this morning from the beds in the etangs. This shot, from near our picnic blanket, is of Canigou, over the Etang de Canet.

Thank you to my family for putting up with blip-madness, and for all buying into this site and alerting me to 'great blips' they have found. And, of course, to the community that makes me keep coming back for more: days like today are easy - but it's you lot that bring me back here on the rainy Tuesday evenings when all I can find to blip is my dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.