My Saturday

Since I had to work most of the day yesterday and was feeling positively dreadful when I wasn't at work, I've designated today as my Saturday. Lucky us in the U.S., we get a day off tomorrow to celebrate Martin Luther King, Jr., as his birthday was January 15, 1929.

An eventful morning of my oldest slamming a door (the one he's been told countless times NOT to slam when his brother is chasing him) and nearly amputating my youngest's right pinky finger. It was gross. Really, really gross. I got mad. Really, really mad. But all is well now with a large amount of swelling but an obvious continued grip. Oh, and I removed the door. HA!

I sat the boys on a small table in front of the big windows in our living room. The rain is unrelenting outside and coming down on the diagonal. There is no sun, but there is light...which is all one needs for a decent photo.

I tried desperately to get both boys to look sad or mad. I was after that sort of sad, longing look...sort of creepy or surreal. But my smallest could in no way at all (even with great amounts of bribing) keep a straight face. No way, no how. It was just not possible. So I asked for silly faces that turned into fingers in all sorts of facial orifices and slobber all about the place.

My youngest finally fell to the floor (on purpose of course) in a fit of laughter, and I managed to grab a few cute shots of him in between the bouts of laughing.

I need to do this more often with them.

So it's off to nap for them and a good shower for me. Check back later!

P.S. You have to LOVE the 50mm f/1.8 for its ability to blur out a disastrous living room. I'm still yearning for the f/1.4 with the f/1.2 being a massive impossibility in this lifetime.

Oh, and I'm eying the Canon 7D. Any comments?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.