The Big Trip.

Woke to not overly pleasant conditions, drizzle and SW 15kt winds, it was supposed to be NE, thus making the trip back across the gulf easier. We waited, procrastinated, listened to weather and wind conditions, then late morning decided it would probably be OK. Somewhat nervously I set off behind the big boat, the route - Great Barrier to Little Barrier and then into the Mahurangi Inlet, about 36 nautical miles.

Surprisingly the first half of the trip was flat calm. I followed well behind in the wake, doing 16kts (could have gone faster but I was following). Little barrier onwards the wind came up, and after picking up lunch I took the lead. Following sea, bashed my way through it a bit, but good fun. 2.5 hours later we arrived, off loaded the gear and I said goodbye. The tinny and micron safely deposited at Scott's Landing.

Picked up by the family we then headed up to Matakana to get fish and chips and have a lovely dinner on Buckleys Beach. Busy but great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.