Brush

I took a break from my desk and headed over to the Community Garden today. I was thinking about a dinner of fine food matched with exquisite beers I'm photographing tomorrow night. My payment is food and beer (but you shouldn't read anything about me into that ;-)

I wanted to photograph the young hop plants the boys are growing in the gardens. To my shame I couldn't identify them. Maybe they'll work on my education tomorrow night ;-)

Instead I found a flower with interesting texture and pattern. A happy while was spent with lensbaby macro rings.

I've had a few things to think about and absorb these past through days. We brush up against plenty in life - illness, close calls on the road, chance encounters with people, death, jolts of various descriptions.... Some caress us, others bruise, some slip by and sometimes we're catapulted into surreal numbness.

Late this afternoon I had more of a jolt than a brush. I was standing in the driveway chatting to a neighbour. We heard a rumble but I thought it was a slow car in low gear and kept talking. Then the closed garage door banged and rattled and an odd humming vibration came through the soles of my feet. A small shallow quake just a few kms away. I shot into the air. If there was an Olympic sport for vertical leaps in an earthquake I'd win the gold medal ;-)

Calm and ordinary is good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.