Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Jonquil

Smoking a cigarette this morning on the back deck, I couldn't help noticing how the sun was lighting the leaves of a potted plant we have -- don't ask me the name, it was one inherited from the previous owners of our house.

I went to get my Ricoh and fired off a few shots. I then turned to the brown leaves of the canna lily, which were backlit by the morning sun, and took a few shots of those.

I also noticed the jonquils at the base of the American sycamore were still in flower and sensing they may well be coming to an end shortly, I fired off a couple of shots of those.

It was a good job I did. The photographs of the various leaves just didn't work out at all. I couldn't seem to get the focus right. Some times auto focus isn't all it is cracked up to be. A couple of the jonquil shots suffered a similar outcome but this one is spot on.

With a little bit of tweaking in Photoshop CS3, which accounted for the rich blue in yesterday's pool reflection, I had today's blip.

At least it saved me from having to walk the streets of Riverside. I really didn't have the time this afternoon, since I was otherwise occupied in trying to get three tracks by Al Green, recorded on video more than 10 years ago in the UK, into a more listenable form, namely a CD. I might even have a go at putting the video clips on to a DVD. The video player isn't going to last forever.

And I think you can all probably guess what the three Al Green tracks are.

Answers on a postcard to calvininjax at blipfoto. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.