Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The View On My Drive Home

Almost every day I drive up the same boulevard to my home.  And every day I look at the mountains directly in front of me.  It never occurred to me that I didn't know what range they were in.  

I knew the Santa Ritas were in the east and those were the mountains everyone talked about.  But what were those mountains in the distant west? (Had I gotten in the middle of the road, you would have had a better view of what I actually see on the drive.  Another mountain to the left.)  

That prompted me to do a little research.  I found out that in Pima County, AZ alone, there are fifty mountain ranges. Five surround the city of Tucson.

I discovered that 50 miles southwest of Tucson, the Baboquivari Mountain Range stood.  That had to be it.  I live about 30 miles south of Tucson.  It made sense.

The Baboquivari have a special relationship with the Tohono O'odham Nation.  The Tohono O'odham Reservation is the second largest in the US, behind only the Navajo.  Baboquivari Peak (not pictured) is the most sacred place to these Native Americans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.