Sheepish Contraptioneer

By PaulCCB

The right place at the right time

Today, my 91yo mother called from across town. She feared she was about to have a heart attack because of her fluctuating blood pressure. She had called the doctor on call, who said she should come into the Emergency Department of the hospital as soon as possible. I asked her if she needed an ambulance, and she said no, that I could take her.

So, I drove across town, got her and took her to the ED. She needed a wheelchair to get from the car to the reception desk, so I went in and perused the field of chairs so wide that they would barely fit through the doors. I asked the attendant if there were any smaller chairs available, that my mother was a small woman. His reply was "Sorry, but we're not allowed to discriminate against larger people."

I wheeled Mom in and got her in the able hands of the volunteer receptionist, then went out to park my car. On the way back to the building, I spotted this sunset, and had to get my camera out for it! What a sunset, and what perfect timing to catch it! Had I been home, the trees would have obscured it for sure!

So, after a bit of a wait, the receiving nurse was one of our favourites. Today, her hair was fluorescent chartreuse with Kelley green highlights (not her natural color, I suspect). She respectfully took my mother's information, took her blood pressure and asked me about mine, then proceeded to cheer Mom up and send her happily on her way home. Crisis over, medications finally kicked in, and all is well with the world.

And I have a decent photo to share.
~:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.