Sheepish Contraptioneer

By PaulCCB

An old mess, cleaned up at last!

What is now our vacation rental was my home for years, and before that it was a house that I was in love with for many years before. In 1969, some friends were living there, and in the basement workshop was a dried puddle of paint on the bare concrete floor. It wasn't any big deal because the basement was rough and unfinished, but I remember the puddle just the same.

Recently, I started looking forward to polishing up the basement a bit, since it's my workshop when guests aren't there, and has the possibility of having a clean laundry room as well, with a painted floor.

But then, there's that puddle of dried paint in the middle of the floor . . .

So, a time came in the evening when I needed to expend some energy, and I tackled the puddle, now at least forty years set, with a wood chisel driven by a hammer. Imagine my glee when the first few paint chips, 1/4" thick, popped right up, exposing clean concrete below! True, the thinner parts of the puddle toward the edges didn't come up in as large a chips, but the paint was just as brittle, and the concrete underneath just as clean!

A job put off for at least forty years finally completed with great satisfaction!

Once again, I'm a happy guy.

~:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.