Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Pollack

This fish was in a crate on a jetty on Coll, left as bait for crab pots. It's is one of the alternative fish to cod and haddock that conservation experts say we should be eating, though when we ask our Grimsby fish merchant he says he can't get them, there's no demand.

I began working on the drawing before we went to Australia, so you might have seen it in an earlier manifestation (I need to check back). I've been working on adding a background - so I now have two plates, a background plate (a collagraph - card + paper collage) and a top perspex plate onto which the fish is drawn. This was my last print in the studio and is pretty close to what I envisaged. A few final tweaks to the way I add or subtract colour should see me with some final prints next week.

p.s I was so tired when I got home last night that I simply couldn't choose what to blip, though I woke up knowing I'd use this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.