Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

In close: Day 3 - Hyacinth

Not just any hyacinth but a multi-flora hyacinth. I hadn't seen these before but they were in the garden centre when I went to check out what I might buy to replace the conservatory plants killed off by the cold over Christmas. I'm not sure whether this will appear too dark on the screen - this is the unprocessed jpeg - I worked on a RAW file and came up with more highlights but I didn't care for the overall effect.

I've had a lovely day today - it all started when my blip adviser asked if I'd seen the amazing early morning sky. After a few shots through the skylight window in the loft I decided it would be a great morning to go up to the ridge and take photos in the next valley. On my way to work I often think that I should get myself up there first thing in the morning both to walk and take photos. Well today I did and it was very beautiful. The sun was just rising over the trees and a hazy frozen mist was hanging about in the hollows. Very cold though and the hand without a glove was definitely numb before long. (After that I managed with my right hand in a glove.)

The quick trip to take a few photos gradually morphed into a walk into the river valley of the Little Don and from there I took the uphill road into Thurgoland - our linked village. I've been asked if I will provide some photos for the new parish website, so while I was out and about I decided I'd take a few photos of the village on this beautiful blue morning. I've taken 140 - so me-thinks I've got quite a bit of work to do in order to select perhaps ten or at the most fifteen.

2011 Challenge `Macro'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.