Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Baby Day

Seeking the early light, this song was on my mind.

"We were meant to see the beginning of the day,
I believe it was planned to lift us this way.

Take you an apple and take you a song,
watch a baby day be born
"

As a young musician, I was heavily influenced by Melanie Safka and her music. Every sunrise that I actually see brings this song to mind. Some of you know that early morning is not my forte, however, the commitment to put eye drops in Mother Comfort's eye 4x a day for a month, has gotten me in my car 7 days a week before my own business of the day begins...which sometimes means sunrise, sometimes just means wonderful morning light.

I scheduled this week a year ago, and have prayed that I would be prepared for it. It has been a staycation this week. A glorious week of organizational therapy. All those annoying little piles that were screaming at me every single day. They can't scream any more. I burned many of them....well, my delightful Contraptioneer, who has been a faithful partner in this mission, burned them...after we sorted and organized, there was a lot we could throw away. Taxes, ready to submit when all info. is received. Lodging Tax for the last quarter, in the mail. Various little projects...done. The weight of the world....not on these shoulders today.

We discovered, through this process, how very true it is that patiently listening (with open hearts) to your spouse and helping each other solve little problems, adds up to bigger solutions, a great deal of unity, and a joy that is absolutely amazing!

A bit of leisure, one afternoon, brought me to read a snippit from a little book given us when we wed. The Language of Marriage from Blue Mountain Arts
At Nightfall
I need so much the quiet of your love
After the day's loud strife;
I need your calm all other things above
After the stress of life.

I crave the haven that in your dear heart lies,
After all toil is done;
I need the starshine of your heavenly eyes,
After the day's great sun.
~Charles Hanson Towne


Thank you, God for this baby day, that is growing up so nicely, and for an excellent partner in life.

Thank you, Paul, for patiently hearing my heart's cry to rethink and reorganize my system of handling paper. Thank you for taking the time to explain little computer mysteries that have already mAjorly improved my sense of order and have freed me to dig deeper, do more research and prepare for bigger and better things to come.

As Mother Comfort told me today, "I'm trying to learn a new habit. I think we should always at least try" (I think that's amazing advice from someone who has seen 91 birthdays.)

(I can't make it stop underlining....sorry)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.