Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Memories Remain

With no Albion match on today (I have to wait until four o'clock tomorrow for my weekly fix of blue and white insanity) today's been a slightly less stressful Saturday than usual, where all I've had to worry about is my immense workload and desperately uncertain employment future. Lucky me.

Thankfully, I got to spend the evening in the company of an old friend, and relive some of the dafter moments of my youth with her. I first met Bridget around October 2004; a time when going out, getting pie-eyed and dancing to the likes of Green Day and The Specials was a necessary fixture of every Thursday night.

Those days are long gone, but far from forgotten. Over the course of a few drinks, it's amazing how quickly you can come to remember the crazy escapades of the golden years; the days when we were young and impulsive. The times that we spent in clubs like The Sugarhouse, and The Crypt. The times we partied until dawn, and danced the night away. The time we nearly buried someone alive by accident. All of these things were brought back to me tonight over the course of a minor pub crawl that took us from The Bobbin, through the Yorkie, to Cuba and Rock-It To The Lune, with many a beer to help with my mental regression.

I think we decided that the past is like a museum exhibit; something to be preserved and appreciated, even celebrated, but not revered. Spend too much time wrapped up in the past, and you'll be wasting the here and now. And even if the here and now happens to be a club playing non-stop nu-metal, with cans of out-of-date Guinness going for a quid each, it's still something worth savouring, as long as you're in good company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.