Raspberry and Coconut Rolls

Baking day, and I stocked my freezer with various kinds of plain and fancy breads. I have shown you my Apple Roll. Here is another favourite made with raspberry jam and fine coconut. (Because I don't eat cane sugar my "jam" is sweet grape puree mixed with crushed frozen raspberries, which makes it look a bit different from real raspberry jam).

Here is how I made them- I used approximately one fifth of a 4-cup batch of bread dough made in a breadmaking machine. Any amount of dough, handmade or not may be used. I add a little wholemeal to the high grade or strong flour.

Roll the dough to a rectangle, about 1cm thick. Wet the far end with a little water.

Spread the dough with raspberry jam and sprinkle generously with coconut.

Carefully roll the dough from the near end, lifting it slightly as you go to keep the coconut in place. Pinch the ends so that the stuffing doesn't spill out.

Lightly press the dough at the wet end to seal it. Then gently form a regular shape, pressing in the ends. Use coconut to stop it from sticking to the board.

Cut the roll into even sized pieces. Then using plenty of coconut at both ends pat each piece into a neat round.

Lift onto a baking tray (I use a non-stick tray or silicone mat) and allow them to rise in a warm place for an hour or so.

Bake them at 200ºC for 15 mins.

Eat them warm or cold with butter. I wrap extras individually, already buttered, to put in the freezer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.