A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Sunday papers

10 hours after purchase am finally opening the papers. Well, that's not quite true - managed to dispatch the main parts of the magazine earlier but that was about all. Never mind, better late than never and with the kids having baths I should have a nicely undisturbed half hour with them now.

Well once I've done a bit of back-blipping, of course.

A bit of a split weekend childwise and today was my Jackson day. We set off early to a chess tournament in SW London. I had to nip out in the middle to help on refreshments for my theatre group's panto. Busy and fun and a real test of mental arithmetic! Didn't see all the panto as we are all going next weekend and from what I did see it's going to be a fun outing.

Jackson did very well at the chess, winning 5/7 games which means he has qualified for the semi-finals later in the year. It's a strange day for the parents as you are pretty much trapped in a room all day and even when you do get to read all the Sunday papers it can drag a bit. Not to mention the slightly odd relationship it gives you with time. But the kids spend time alternating chess games with mass football matches and really couldn't be happier. It's fair to say I am ever more grateful for the days my dad gave over to taking me to netball tournaments.

Right, those papers won't read themselves.

Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.