Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Too Chilly...

...even for Southern Arizona.

It was 72F today when the sun was shining, but as usual in the desert, after sunset the temperatures plummet.

This is the scene right after the sun had fallen below the horizon behind me.  The temperature took a noticeable dive and I went for a jacket to cover my short sleeves.  

People had abandoned the pool but one gentleman was still in the jacuzzi.  The pool is heated to 84 degrees year-round and the jacuzzi to 103 degrees.

I'm on hiatus right now as a pool monitor at this particular rec center pool.  Monitors sit outside the deck and make sure people follow the basic rules...swipe their attendance cards through the reader, take a shower before entering the water, taking appropriate safety precautions...but not being a life guard.

I will be returning to my duties on April 1. This is a volunteer position.  In 2009, I had 459 volunteer hours, but due to my health in 2010, I had only 209.  From May through October, I volunteer four-five evenings a week from 6 pm-9 pm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.