jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Tired

Tired today.

Ben announced this morning that he needed the toilet (we'd both just said we were going to the toilet). So he took his pants down, Steve took his nappy off and sat him down on the potty. Stayed there while we both went to the loo. Kept saying he was doing a poo. Stood up and lo and behold... no not a poo, but a big wee.

He's potty training himself, it would seem.

And I think I've sussed the reason why he is so against having a nappy on. A few weeks ago we bought a reusable swim nappy, and I think he likes the feeling of "freedom" he gets from that, as opposed to the constriction of regular nappies. Hey ho.

Preschool: 'sposie nappy as I didn't have time or energy to sort out a cloth nappy for him to be changed into as well as sort out a lunchbox for him (thank goodness for M&S at the services last night...). Cried on leaving him but evidently not for long else they would have phoned me sooner than they did (to tell me he was fine and had been doing some painting).

Work: bad. Don't like the new payroll system :( Not intuitive, doesn't do things I would expect it to do, does thing I'm not expecting occasionally, doesn't have an "undo" button that I could see anyway. Christmas timesheets meant hours were all over the place. 2 peoples' timesheets weren't in at all. Stressful to try and cram it all into 2.5hrs before going to pick Ben up...

Home: tired. Just, tired.

Fought with Ben over getting a jumper on him so we could go for a little walk to the shop. He didn't want it on, and couldn't tell me why. Cried and sobbed and fought. Patience won out and it went on, by the time we were heading to the door all wrapped up it was as if nothing had happened. I said I was sad that he was crying because he didn't want his jumper on. He kissed me better...

Steve home: falling asleep on the sofa. Reading Old Macdonald. Ben signing "pig' and saying "oink oink". Watching ITNG and Steve really falling asleep and Ben telling him to wake up.

Dinner out of the freezer. But it still requires effort to go back into the kitchen and turn the microwave on.

Not unpacked yet.... that can wait. All going to bed at 8 I think tonight!


Backblipped for Saturday if you want to read about our journey up to Manchester and the challenge to get to bed once we arrived in the wee hours; and also for Sunday to read about the journey home...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.