D77

By D77

Hang on

Today began with a confrontation with a teacher who wasn't happy about something I'd said about next month's course allocation which resulted in her feeling undervalued as a member of staff. It was difficult to hear her criticism. Some of it was justified, some of it wasn't. Some of it was a little personal, which bothered me the most. I don't mind idiots getting upset with me, but when it's the nice staff, it's harder to get it out of my mind. I must remember that you when you are responsible for what people do during the week, it's important to not get overly friendly (or worse, overly try), something I'm rather guilty of.

I collected my thoughts quickly, accepted that it was my own fault for being a little unprofessional, and made amends as best I could with an 11th hour delegation masterclass that ended up with a lot more happiness and also an apology (of sorts).

Anyway, a few lessons learned today. Not easy lessons, but lessons nonetheless.

In other news (literally), and according to my sources (I think I'd make a good BBC correspondent), tomorrow is threatening to become a day of tension as people take to the streets to protest about Egypt's corrupt government and the general state of the country. Good luck to them, if the reports I've heard about what the police intend to do to people that voice opinions are accurate. Because of this, and also due to tomorrow being Egypt Police Day (the protests were clearly chosen for this day on purpose, further fuelling the rumour mill of trouble), we are not required to go to work, and have been encouraged to not actually leave our homes.

In more other news, I don't recommend taking pictures at f/18.2 if you've got a dirty sensor. I had no idea what a dirty little bugger it was. Still too scared to clean it though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.