Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Tropical Meets Temperate

I headed out today to the area of Riverside that I frequented when I first started blipping. I haven't visited this area for some months and thought that I would probably gain fresh inspiration.

On my way, I passed by West Riverside Elementary School and noticed an open door that gave a view of an empty classroom that featured cut-out footprints stuck on the board either side of the slogan, "Let's Walk, WRES!"

I walked towards the steps leading to the door and started to frame the shot.

From somewhere, and I know not where, I heard a male voice say: "What are you doing?"

"I'm taking a photograph," I replied as I continued trying to get the shot right.

"There's this new invention called a camera," I added and pressed the shutter.

I did not bother to look back or enter into further discourse and walked away.

I half expected an area within a half mile radius of the school to be summarily cordoned off, with me surrounded by a SWAT team. That would have made a cool blip. :-)

Alas, I made my way unhindered to Willowbranch Creek, which afforded numerous photographic opportunities with the high contrast B&W mode.

The leaves of the palmetto against the bark of a live oak appealed to me, sort of tropical meets temperate in vegetation terms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.