Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

The Best I Could Do

As Bob Mortimer used to say to Vic Reeves, "This is very poor, Vic."

And I apologize.

I woke up to rain and rain was forecast for most of the day, with thunderstorms after 1:00pm. I thought to myself, "Well, there's no chance of getting out today."

But around 11:30am, the rain eased off and eventually stopped. I figured that I had a window of opportunity. It was still dry when I set out at 12:30pm and I reckoned I had at least 30 minutes at my disposal. Wrong!

Five minutes out and I noticed a few rain drops hitting the puddles at the side of the road. I walked on with an air of desperation. I was in an area of Riverside that affords little in the way of photographic opportunities.

By the time I reached Acosta Street, the rain was beginning to fall a little harder and I pulled the hood up on my hoody. I spotted this shot of the steps leading up to the porch of a small apartment block. I figured the high contrast B&W mode might lend it a bit of merit. If it does, it is only by the slightest of margins.

I do count myself lucky that I managed to get back to the house without getting soaked. Another 10 minutes and that would have been my fate as the heavens opened in true Florida style.

Don't forget that I am an old newspaper man and go all soggy if I get wet. :-)

If no one looks and comments on this shot, I will understand perfectly. It is the kind of shot that should see me being forced to stand in the corner of the classroom with my back to the rest of the class. Ah, the pyschological torture of Penkhull Infants School back in the late 1950s. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.