Nastia's Slow Little Days

By Anastasia

Infinity

As I was busy watching Mad Men and being cranky all day, I had maybe ten minutes to capture a blip before the day was through. I used the challenge to photograph some everyday household objects (mostly colorful arrangements of toiletries), snip snip snap. Then something, its origins unknown, prompted me to take photos of the fluorescent bulb above the bathroom's vanity (mirror) at different exposures to find out how its light transferred to photograph. I was in for a delicious surprise, a beautiful circular glow with crisscrossing curves reminiscent of my favorite symbol, infinity. I've played with it a bit and reduced it to just the circle framed in black, and I have other more colorful, but not very many people these days question the authenticity of color in a black and white photograph so I have that to my advantage in this version.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.