Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Lensbaby Macro Coral

Today felt quite leisurely, though I'd intended to carry on with the writing I simply didn't!

So I spent a couple of hours sorting photos and adding a few to Flickr, followed by a few household chores, then half an hour trying out the macro lenses with the lensbaby, an hour watching the garden and recording birds as part of Big Garden Birdwatch followed by a leisurely lunch ... and then the clouds came just at the point I'd planned to go for a walk.

I started by photographing the very `tired' cyclamen flowers, i.e. those that were pretty droopy but I've discovered it's not too easy to get the necessary bits in focus. I think I can see better on the Panasonic screen than I can through my Canon 400D viewfinder, so I'm pleased I opted to have the lens for the G1. (I'd expected to get the usual magnified view that operates with the manual setting on the G1 but didn't take into account that the lensbaby is an alien and isn't actual recognised by the camera).

So I ended up with a couple of cyclamen shots that are interesting in a David Clunas kind of way which I'll probably add to my folio and this shot of a very small piece of coral (possibly a piece of fossilised coral) which measures 290mm by 200mm (approx 1" by 0.75"). There are all kinds of patterns and blobs that look like dirt on the photo which I hadn't even seen when I picked it out of the Australia shells pot. I think this piece was easier to photograph because it is flatter and therefore has more surface parrallel to the focal plane (sorry if this sounds too technical - I think I'm really writing this as notes for me and I'm guessing most folks will have stopped reading by now!)

2011 Challenge `Tired' >>>>

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.