Appreciation

By Appreciation

Oil the Gears

In every house there needs to be at least one person who oils the cogs, sorts out the gears, keeps the wheels turning, stops the mud from flying.

Today it would seem we are a harmonious team, working together to achieve many common goals. It starts with the football match and Daddio getting the wheels in motion for a winning performance. Whilst Daddio helps my girl with her chemistry, I sort out my boy with his packing. Whilst I prepare lunch, the rest of the team set the table. Whilst my boy sorts his room, I help by breaking up and recycling all the junk he has accumulated. Whilst my girl's confidence wobbles, I pick up the pieces and put them back in the right order with some more on top (I hope).

This is very unusual for our house on a Sunday. Usually we are running about chasing our tails. It was helped today by a long awaited win from the boy and his footie team, and my girl not going to gym. There was time for everyone to do what was necessary without rushing or without a cloud hanging over them. I think as a reward we deserve a celebratory tea - once my boy has put that blooming filthy bike away please!

Maybe there is still time for a right royal bust up after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.