Tuscany

By Amalarian

180 YEARS AGO TODAY

On this day, 180 years ago, an estate worker wrote the above in a journal given to him at Christmas 1830. He kept it faithfully until he ran out of pages in November of 1831.

The gift of this journal 180 years ago gave this man the opportunity to record his days. He missed a few. The gift of Blipfoto has given me the opportunity to see if I could do a daily journal for 100 days. I cannot believe it has been 365. I didn't even think I'd live this long.

I am sure Joe and G. et al are weary of being thanked and appreciated but have to say it. Thank you. You are the reason I have shattered my credit card and bought equipment which I now love with a passion. And thank you to all those who look at my pics, and especially to those who offer advice and explanations so generously and make comments. Thanks, too, to Himself who has been helpful and patient for 363 of the 365 days. (But who counts?)

The man who kept this diary was named Andrew Kemp. He was very discreet and never mentioned his employer's name but referred to him as "the master." He also mentioned "helping the coachman" and "going up to the castle." For all of the snow on 1st February 1831, they were out plowing two weeks later.

His life was not an exciting one. He worked, he went to church on Sunday, dropped by the local pub weekly and polished his boots regularly. I was once given a journal for Christmas. The entries are few and not very exciting. Andrew Kemp and I have a lot in common.

I think his entry for 1st February is fairly legible in the picture but if not, this is what he wrote:

Tuesday the 1st being as terrible a day as ever I saw I think with snow and drift. After breakfast we all four went to the Miln of Cairnie with Robert. Brough's corn the road was as drifted up as that we could scarcly keep the upon it we was home by two. The day was none abaited. Towards evening it became worse and worse I do not recolect of seeing a sever night I think. Alexr Mathers the Smith departed this life this night about three o'clock.

Andrew Kemp's Signature 1830

For the record: Hazy sun. +6 C. Sunrise: 7:37; sunset 5:27

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.