While on my runs

By waipushrink

Beside the bus stop

Last night's sky and the tropical cyclone currently devastating (again) Queensland, predicted a grey and humid day. Not a lot of light this morning as I went off via K Road to the Auckland Domain. Passed one of Auckland's homeless sleeping in a shop doorway and in light of this week's challenge, thought about a photo; decided it was an intrusion and carried on through the Domain and back out to head home. A few photos on the way. This is an interesting process to be part of.

Just past the Auckland Hospital, I came across my second painted circuit box (my thanks to gpzero for reminding me of the name as I had forgotten when I blipped the first one [in Grey Lynn]) and had to stop and take this picture. Only minor cropping done.

The Link buses were a development quite some years ago, as a sop to the ecological lobby who wanted an inner city circuit linking downtown Auckland, the University, Auckland Hospital, the Domain, Newmarket, and K Road. Apparently the planners expected it to be an utter failure, instead of which it is highly successful with locals and tourists keeping most buses as full as this painting suggests. So successful, that they have increased the frequency in the daytime from every 30 minutes to every five minutes in both directions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.